Landmark Chambers

Home > Recruitment > Judicial Review Moot

Judicial Review Moot

Landmark Chambers is pleased to announce the launch of its Judicial Review Mooting Competition, which provides students with an excellent opportunity to apply planning and environmental law in a public law context and gain insight into some of Chambers’ key practice areas prior to applying for pupillage.

The competition comprises of a number of “knock out” rounds followed by a Grand Final which will be held at the Royal Courts of Justice before esteemed members of the judiciary. The two winners of the Grand Final will each be awarded £500 and the opportunity to undertake a mini-pupillage in Chambers.

We endeavour to give every student that enters the moot an opportunity not only to practice their advocacy, but also to meet a group of our members and hear more from us about life at Landmark and at the Planning, Environmental and Public Bars. We will therefore be running the first round at Landmark Chambers on Saturday 24 November 2018, between 11:00 and 17:00. In addition to the moots that will inevitably take place, the day will consist of a variety of talks and/or workshops run by our members. We will also be providing lunch and holding a drinks reception at the end of the day, to which all of our competitors will be invited.

We are aware that there are some areas of planning and environmental practice which remain wholly unfamiliar to students and, whilst all moot problems will be public law based, we emphasise that no prior knowledge of planning or environmental law is required in order to participate. Furthermore, we will endeavor to provide useful resources such as sample skeleton arguments in order to assist competitors with participating in the moots.

The entrance deadline for the 2018/2019 competition is Friday 12 October 2018. If you would like to register your university’s interest in participating, please email Carolyn Entwistle, our HR and Administration Manager, at

Please note that this competition is open to all students undertaking law degrees (i.e. LLB, LLM, GDL and BPTC) and that only one team per university will be permitted to enter.